top of page

Lifetime Achievement Award

2022 Awardee: Greg Rosenvall

Greg graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from BYU in 1984. He worked for Exxon Corporation for 12 years in Midland, Texas, and Thousand Oaks California. He was involved in the development of three offshore oil and gas platforms in the Santa Barbara channel. Greg became CEO of Gunnison Valley Hospital, a small rural hospital in central Utah, in 1996. He served there as CEO for 15 years. He also served as chairman of the Utah Hospital Association (UHA) governing board in 2009-2010. He became the rural hospital improvement director at UHA in 2011 and has held this position since then. He currently works with all rural hospitals in Utah to assist in their operational efficiencies. His primary focus is on the nine rural independent hospitals because these hospitals are not part of a larger system or corporation and hence their resources are limited.

2021 Awardee: Mark Dalley, Gunnison Valley Hospital  

Mark Dalley was born and raised in Southern Utah. He attended schools in Cedar City and Parowan, graduating from Parowan High School in 1972.  After serving a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in New Mexico and Texas, he graduated from SUSC (now SUU) in 1977 with a degree in Political Science and from BYU in 1980 with an MPA degree. 

Mark worked as a CEO or COO for 40+ years. He worked for 15 years for Intermountain Health Care in Hospitals in Cedar City, St. George, and Orem. He then worked for 5 years for Rural Health Management Corporation in Hospitals in Tooele and Nephi and for 9 years for Catholic Health Initiatives at a hospital in Ontario Oregon. Mark returned to Utah in 2021 as the CEO of Gunnison Valley Hospital until his retirement in 2021

Mark served as Chairman of the Board of the Utah Hospital Association and Chair of the Digital Health Services Commission, as well as the Board Chair of the Rural Nine Network, Board President of the Rural Health Association of Utah, and Chair of the Rural Hospital Council for UHA.  Mark was named the recipient of the Distinguished HealthCare Executive Award for 2021 by the Utah Hospital Association.

2020 Awardee: Marla Shelby Drabner 

Marla has had an impressive career in healthcare. She is the retired Program Director of the Southern Utah Neurosciences Institute at Dixie Regional Medical Center, having been with the program since its inception in 2012. Marla has 28 years in senior healthcare leadership positions and is the immediate past Chair of the Southwest AHEC Advisory Board. She is the only woman in Utah to achieve Life Fellow status in the American College of Healthcare Administrators.


Her career has included: 13 years as a hospital administrator and CEO; 7 years as a long-term care administrator; 4 plus years as the Program Director of the Southern Utah Neurosciences Institute taking the project from vision to operation; and Service as Chair of the Wyoming Hospital Association and on committees of the American Hospital Association.


Marla is especially proud of the opportunities she has had to mentor others. She found it very rewarding to help launch careers for persons who have gone on to play important roles in healthcare.

2019 Awardee: Michael K Magill, MD, Director of Utah AHEC


Dr. Magill has spent a career dedicated to healthcare reform and educating future primary care clinicians, especially for inter-professional teams. His ongoing research interests include transformation of primary care to meet the "Quadruple Aim" of better health, smarter spending, improved quality of care, and clinician satisfaction. He conducts research on education for and implementation of team-based care, especially in medically underserved rural and urban areas, and on calculating the supply of primary care professionals to meet population needs in a transforming health system. He is a collaborator on studies of early detection and management of dementia, and family caregiver roles in care of the elderly. In his professional practice, Dr. Magill focuses on providing comprehensive primary care in sustained partnership with patients and families.

Dr. Magill graduated from Duke Medical School and completed the Duke-Watts Family Medicine Residency Program, in Durham, North Carolina. He served from 1981-1986 on the faculty of the University of Arizona in the Department of Community and Family Medicine, where he directed the Family Medicine Faculty Development Program. From 1986-1994 he worked at Tallahassee Memorial Regional Medical Center, Tallahassee, Florida, first as Director of the Family Medicine Residency, subsequently as Senior Vice President for Medical Education and Outreach. He moved to Utah in 1994 to found the Utah Area Health Education Centers Program, which he still directs, and served as FPM Department Chairman from 1995 through 2016. He is the Past President of the Association of Departments of Family Medicine and is a member of the Board of Directors of the American Board of Family Medicine.

2017 Awardee: Craig Davidson, Milford Memorial & Beaver Valley Hospital


This award was presented by friend and colleague Mark Dalley, CEO of Gunnison Valley Hospital, Dalley’s presentation highlighted that “there’s no one I admire more in healthcare, especially rural healthcare” as Craig Davidson.  As CEO, Davidson managed to build rural hospitals at a time when similar facilities nationally were failing.  Throughout his life, Davidson has been a vocal advocate of rural hospitals and has been known to fight bureaucracy with a seldom-seen stubbornness resulting in many unlikely victories for rural hospitals.  Davidson is a graduate of Brigham Young University and has a master’s in Public Administration.  Through his passion for rural medicine, he is more than deserving of this Lifetime Achievement Award.

2016 Awardee: Dennis Moser, Utah Center for Rural Health


Throughout his life, Moser has been an advocate for rural health issues across the state of Utah.  He received a bachelor’s degree in Health Services Administration from Weber State College in 1988 and a master’s degree in Health Administration (Rural Track) from the University of Colorado in 1990.  Shortly after writing a successful Rural Health Transitions Grant, he led the development of a 30-bed long-term wing at Garfield Memorial Hospital, a service he managed for two years.

Moser’s contribution to Iron County which spans across the state was due to his selection by the University of Utah to develop a regional Area Health Education Center (AHEC) for Southwest Utah, which expanded to the Utah Center for Rural Health.  Rita Osborn, current Director of the Center, indicates that “Dennis was instrumental in developing many successful programs we run still today, including the Rural Health Association of Utah and the Utah Rural Health Scholars Program.  We are truly grateful for his contribution to rural health across not only the counties we represent but the entire state.”

Dennis represented rural health on numerous boards, committees, and the Utah Digital Health Services Commission.  He is a Life Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives and received their Early Career Healthcare Executive Award in 1994.  Dennis and his wife, LeeAnn, have retired to Kanarraville to be near their children and grandchildren.

bottom of page